I am so proud to accept an Indspire Award from the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards.

Please read on…

October 16, 2012: Ohsweken, ON – 14 outstanding Indigenous Canadians today were named as recipients of the 2013 Indspire Awards. Formerly called the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, the Indspire Awards have, for 20 years, celebrated the significant contributions of Indigenous people in Canada.

This year, a national jury comprised of former Award recipients reviewed all the nominations and selected 10 career achievement award winners, three youth award winners (First Nation, Inuit and Métis) and one lifetime achievement award. The selection is a confidential process that is based on the highest merits of fairness, honesty and respect to the hundreds of deserving nominees.

“Each and every one of our Award recipients is a role model and a leader who has made a profound impact in their communities and across Canada,” said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of Indspire. “By honouring their achievements, we continue to inspire others to demonstrate their own potential — which is why the work we do at Indspire with First Nation, Inuit and Métis students is so essential.”

The 2013 Indspire Award recipients are:

Jacqueline Guest, Alberta – Arts

Charlie Evalik, Nunavut – Business & Commerce

Winston Wuttunee, Saskatchewan – Culture, Heritage & Spirituality

Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, British Columbia – Education

Lloyd (Sonny) Flett, Alberta – Environment & Natural Resources

Ruby Jacobs, Ontario – Health

Viola Robinson, Nova Scotia – Law & Justice

Duane Smith, Northwest Territories – Politics

Gail Cyr, Manitoba – Public Service

Theoren Fleury, Manitoba – Sports

Graham Kotowich, Saskatchewan – Métis Youth Award

Gabrielle Scrimshaw, Saskatchewan – First Nation Youth Award

Elizabeth Zarpa, Newfoundland and Labrador – Inuit Youth Award

Alex Van Bibber, Yukon – Lifetime Achievement Award

Indspire will formally recognize these remarkable individuals at a special Indspire Awards gala event on Friday, February 15, 2013 at the Sid Buckwold Theatre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. The Awards promote self-esteem and pride for the Indigenous community and provides outstanding role models for Indigenous youth. The Awards broadcast the success of individuals who have the discipline, drive and determination to set high standards and accomplish their goals.